Papua (Indonesian: Provinsi Papua) is the largest and easternmost province of Indonesia. It lies in West Papua region, which comprises the Indonesian, western, half of the island of New Guinea and nearby islands. Papua is bordered by the nation of Papua New Guinea to the east, and by West Papua province to the west. Its capital is Jayapura. It was formerly called Irian Jaya (before that West Irian or Irian Barat) and comprised all of Indonesian New Guinea. In 2002 the current name was adopted and in 2003 West Papua province was created within West Papua region from western parts of Papua province. With the talles tropical trees and vast biodiversity, Papua's known for its forest fauna, including marsupials (such as possums, wallabies, tree-kangaroos, cuscuses) and the endangered long-beaked Echidna, as well as numerous bird species and the world's largest butterflies habitat.